Kansas

IMG_0091

It’s the first day of school and I’m sitting in the library patiently waiting 11:30. Outside the window are people walking across the lawns where last year I slept, skipping class. Lectures, textbooks, tests, were anything but what I wanted my life to be about. My head was with the birds flying through the clouds. For all we knew there was the Emerald City waiting for us on the other side of the occasional rainbow.
As it turns out though a rainbow is just a rainbow. A story just a story. We can tell ourselves a fantasy is true for however long we want but it won’t make it any more real; at least this is what I had done in the past. I wanted to believe dreams could be reached by simply closing my eyes. Dreams can be reached like this but I wanted to be on their plateau even while awake.
So I enrolled in college again. It’s not that I really want my life to be about the regularities of school like lunch time, studying, and shifting responsibilities of work and school. It’s nothing magical but maybe it’s the inspiration I need to write my own version of the Emerald City. I like the adventure but need a little push into it. The clock just ticked 11:10 and need to head to class. So long, Kansas.

Leave a Reply

